Live Pre License FAQ:
Prior real estate knowledge is NOT required to participate in the course.
The basic distinction between a Salesperson and Brokers license is that a salesperson may not work independently nor have other real estate agents working for them. A Broker may work independently. There are other distinctions that will be covered in class. To obtain a broker’s license, you must work as a salesperson for a real estate brokerage firm for at least three years, complete 40 additional hours of classroom instruction and pass the broker’s license exam.
Currently, online classes are NOT allowed for pre license real estate training in Massachusetts.
Currently our pre license classes are only offered on Saturdays and Sundays.
PLEASE NOTE: Class schedules are subject to change without notice.
30 Man Mar Drive, Suite, #6, Plainville, MA
Please see our class calendar for specific class dates.
The board requires you take a 40 hour class. Our courses are held over four days, each covering a different subject: Contracts & Federal Law, Finance & Brokerage, Appraisal & Mass Law, Property Rights & Land Use Controls. Take your classes over 2 consecutive weekends with our Weekend Series. Need more flexibility? Call us to discuss your options.
Browse the class calendar to determine a START DATE that works best for you. Click the date on the calendar for more details and a link to register at our online store.
Students are urged to bring a notebook, pen, highlighter and basic calculator.
You will receive your course manual when you arrive on the first day of class.
If you need to cancel a class registration, full refunds will only be issued for the Salesperson Class with at least 72 hours notice before the class start date and 14 days notice before the Broker Class start date. For cancellations after the cut off date, a cancellation fee of 30% of the tuition will apply. There are no exceptions.
Of course, this depends on your individual learning style. Students learn in different ways and at different paces. It is highly recommended that you set aside time to study and prepare for the exam outside of your classroom time. We cover a lot of material during class, and most people need to revisit the material on their own time to be ready to take the exam with confidence. Our instructors are well-versed in adult learning techniques and will share with you strategies to help you establish effective study habits.
The exam is $85.00. (PSI Exam Fee: $54 + MA Application Fee: $31)
Please Note: Starting April 1, 2016, PSI Services, LLC will be the new vendor for the Massachusetts Real Estate Exam. To learn more about the new company and their procedures, please visit “PSI Frequently Asked Questions.”
There are two parts to the exam, the general section and the Massachusetts law section. You need to get 70% on both parts of the exam. If you fail one part, you need only retake the section you failed. The cost to retake is $54.00.
Our goal is for you to pass the first time but if you don’t you may come back to class for review for no additional charge. We also suggest you call us so we can talk about which subjects areas might need extra attention and we’ll help you create a study plan that addresses these areas.
The salesperson license is issued immediately after passing the exam. The fee is prorated based on the day you pass the exam and your birthday. The fee ranges from $103 – $154. The reason for the pro-ration is your new license will be valid for two years from your next birthday at which time you will need to renew. Your only requirement to renew your license will be to compete 12 hours of continuing education classes.
Online Continuing Education (CE) FAQ:
Yes, our school is bonded and licensed by the MA Board of Registration of Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons.
Yes, all our online classes are fully-approved for CE credits in Massachusetts.
Online classes were not allowed before 2010. The new law that allows approved real estate schools to teach online classes went into effect February 1, 2010.
The MA Board of Registration does not distinguish between residential and commercial agents. You may select any of our course offerings, as they are fully-approved for both residential and commercial agents.
No, the continuing educations requirements are the same for salespersons and brokers.
The MA Board requires that you complete 12 hours of approved continuing education classes every two years. The Board’s approved classes are all in two-hour segments so you would need to take six, two-hour classes. There are no tests or quizzes with CE Classes.
Our classes are produced in a multi-media video format offering a combination of recorded instructor presentation and PowerPoint slides. After registering for our classes, you will log into our school website and watch the videos for each class at your own pace. You may start and stop the videos at any time, as our system keeps track of where you left off. There is no required reading or any tests to pass. You may watch the videos on most devices (desktop computer, laptop, iPad, etc.). You have access to our videos anywhere there is an internet connection.
No. There are no tests or quizzes. Just watch the videos, and at the conclusion of the courses, you will be asked to acknowledge that you watched the videos yourself. You will then be able to print your certificate of completion from our system to keep for your records.
Yes, our classes are fully functional on iPads, Macs, PC’s and most tablets and smart phones.
It takes three easy steps to get started.
1. Go to our online real estate school page and set up an account.
2. Go to the ‘Catalog’ tab and choose your classes.
3. Pay with a credit card and begin watching the videos.
If you have any questions, please call us at 508-952-1010.
You will have 90 days from your registration date to complete the course and go back to review the videos.
No. When you complete your courses online with us, you will be able to print a certificate of completion right from our system to keep for your records, but you DO NOT send this certificate to the Board at this time. You will communicate your fulfillment of the requirements to the Board by indicating “Yes” on the renewal form “under the pains and penalties of perjury” that you have completed your 12 hours of continuing education courses. You would only need to send your Certificate of Completion to the Board if you receive an audit letter. The Board uses a quasi-honor system and will periodically audit a number of agents. We also keep a detailed record of your classes in our database, and you may contact us if you need proof of your CE credit completion.
Approximately 2 months before your license renewal date, you will receive a renewal application in the mail from the MA Board of Registration of Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons. You must complete and mail the form to the Board prior to your renewal date, along with a one-time renewal fee. The form includes a section to indicate (“Yes” or “No”) if you have completed the 12-hours of continuing education credits required for renewal. If you answer “Yes”, your license will be renewed and considered to be “active.” If you answer “No” or fail to answer the question, your license will be renewed as “inactive.” When you answer this question, keep in mind that you are attesting to the truth “under the pains and penalties of perjury” and there are consequences for falsifying this information.
Yes, to avoid late fees, you may send in your renewal application before completing your 12-hours of continuing education classes. If you would like to renew your license, but have NOT yet completed the courses, you would answer “No” to the question regarding the completion of continuing education credits and mail the application and renewal fee to the Board. It’s important to understand, however, that your license will be considered current, but “inactive” until you complete the CE requirements and notify the Board.
If your license is current (meaning you have paid the renewal fee), but “inactive” (because you did not complete the CE credit requirements by the renewal date), you will receive a notice informing you that your renewal is “inactive.” This form will have a section to indicate “under the pains and penalty of perjury” that you have completed the continuing education requirements and you want to make your license “active.” The completed form is mailed to the Board. If for some reason you do not receive the “inactive” notice from the Board, you can download a License Reactivation Form from on the Board’s website and mail it to them. Note: There is no additional fee charged when mailing the inactive status notice or License Reactivation form.
To renew an expired license, you must submit a Request For Reinstatement Application to the board with all applicable fees. Please note that you may be required to pay the licensing fee for all the years that you failed to renew your license and one late fee.
No. Taking the Broker Pre license class alone will not fulfill the CE requirements for a salesperson. However, if you take the broker class and pass the broker exam prior to your license renewal date, your salesperson license is upgraded to a broker’s license and your next license renewal date will be two years from your next birthday.
For more detailed information about the licensing process in Massachusetts, visit the Board of Registration of Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons website.